Are Bagels Dairy Free?

Are Bagels Dairy Free?

Are bagels dairy-free? Regular bagels can be considered dairy-free since they are often made with no animal products or additives. However, some bagel brands have ingredients such as honey, eggs, or dairy included. But not to worry most major bagel brands and grocery stores offer a variety of dairy-free options to choose from.

There are quite a lot of things special about bagels, it can range from sweet to plain and savory. Bagels are made from yeasted white dough that’s shaped like donuts and although this originated from the Jewish communities of Poland, however, it has gone ahead to be a favorite of many people around the world.

Not all types of bagels are vegan but depending on the ingredients and fillings, most of them are vegan.

Bagels go well with any kind of coffee and if you are craving some yummy bagels for dessert, you can have the toppings or fillings made to suit what you are craving. It’s one of the notable traditional snacks you can’t say no to.

Dairy refers to any food product made from milk such as cheese, cream, butter, and yogurt. Dairy products are common in yeast-made snacks. However, there are many reasons you might not want dairy products, hence this article helps determine whether bagels are dairy-free or not.

Are Bagels Diary Free?

Generally, bagels are made with flour, water, salt, sugar, and yeast. None of the ingredients are made from animal products, however, for flavor, some bagels contain ingredients that are made from dairy products. There are reasons you might be trying to avoid dairy products, some of these reasons include being vegan or having dairy intolerance.

Food does have alternative names, so dairy might not be easily detected in bagels. But not to worry, major restaurant food chains offer mainly dairy-free bagels. Not all types of bagels contain dairy products, and it is often found in bagels with no traditional toppings.

Certain ingredients like cow milk, cheese, yogurt will show that the bagels are not dairy-free hence watch out for these ingredients.

One way you can ensure your bagel is dairy-free is to make it at home yourself as this will enable you to control what goes inside. If this can be done then you have to ensure to read the label before buying. Milk or any milk-made products like whey, lactose, and casein should be watched out for.

Bagels Nutritional Facts

While a creamy or savory bagel will go well with coffee every morning, but a plain bagel might still be a healthier option. One thing to consider before choosing a bagel is how nutritious the toppings are. The calories from bagels are considered nutritious when consumed in moderation but here are its nutritional facts to guide you.

  • 1 gram of fat
  • 11 grams of protein
  • 3 milligrams of iron
  • Calories 289
  • Carbohydrate 56 grams
  • 3 grams of fiber
  • Zinc: 8% of the DV
  • Calcium: 6% of the DV
  • Copper: 19% of the DV

Not all bagels are made the same way which means they can be made with more or fewer calories depending on the ingredients. If you are watching your carbs and calories then, bagels might not be the ideal everyday snack for you. It does contain fat and protein but not enough to cover the high amount of calories.

Do bagels cause belly fat?

Bagels are likely to cause you to gain weight if you eat them in excess. Overconsumption of any food can be bad for the body especially one made with flour. Consuming excess bagels can cause belly fat and overall weight gain. It is best to have bagels eating in moderation and ensure to be cautious of many calories you are taking in. If you are a bagel lover then it’s best to choose one made with 100 percent refined flour as that contains fewer calories.

Is lactose-free the same as dairy-free?

Dairy-free products mean it has to be free of dairy products while lactose products are made from real dairy. Dairy-free products are made from plants, but lactose-free products are designed by milk manufacturers for that lactose intolerant. So, lactose-free products may contain milk but dairy-free products should not.

Final Thoughts

Regular bagels are not just dairy-free, but they are vegan as well and as long as it’s consumed in moderation, you have nothing to worry about.

How healthy any food is actually depends solely on the ingredients within, there are so many ways bagels can be made which often determines how healthy it gets to be.

If tucking in cream cheese is how you enjoy your bagels then go for it and if you are on a carb diet, balancing it with protein and vegges can also get you the nutrient you want.

Read next: Are Donuts Dairy Free?

Leave a Comment